Mosaïcultures: a growing success

More than 10 years after making its debut on the international stage, Montreal once again welcomed Mosaïcultures Internationales de Montréal 2013 to the Botanical Garden. With a theme of “The giants of the horticultural world are a cut above”, the event surpassed all its objectives in attracting more than 1 million people and injecting $35.3 million into the Quebec economy.

Upperkut developed the graphic signature, the event tagline, the advertising campaign, (posters and print), the graphic platform, signage, promotional products, as well as the website and social media.

At the same time an international competition, an exhibition and a performance of the horticultural art, the event was a fantastic success and one of the most popular tourist attractions in Quebec. “By the end of the event on November 15, we had attracted 1,015, 666 visitors,” Lise Huneault, director of communications and marketing for MIM 2013 proudly reports.

Traditionally, horticultural exhibitions attract a certain public. In our communications we highlighted the grandiose nature of the competition, in order to appeal to a larger audience,” revealed Serge Leathead, Upperkut’s president. “What’s more, we provided a special place for Frédéric Back’s work, L’homme qui plantait des arbres, one of mosaïcultures’ leading lights. Furthermore, Marc Hallé, Upperkut’s studio director, had the pleasure of working with Mr. Back, a few months before the great artist passed away at age 89. “It was a privilege to discuss with him the process of ideation while preparing a work, whether it be for film or advertising,” recalls this creative maestro, pleased to have contributed, along with his team, to the success of an event of this stature.

The not-for-profit organization Mosaïcultures Internationales de Montréal was created in 1998 to put on the first edition of Mosaïcultures Internationales. Its mission is to promote horticulture as an expression of the values of the new millenium and a significant element in the urban landscape.Balenciaga

Les Mosaïcultures : un succès retentissant

Plus de 10 ans après sa première édition, Montréal accueillait à nouveau les Mosaïcultures Internationales de Montréal 2013 au Jardin botanique. L’exposition sous le thème Les géants débarquent à Montréal a dépassé tous les objectifs en attirant plus d’un million de personnes et en injectant 35,3 millions de dollars dans l’économie québécoise.

Upperkut a développé la signature graphique, la campagne de publicité, affichage et journaux, la plateforme graphique, la signalisation, les produits dérivés et promotionnels, ainsi que le site Web.

À la fois compétition internationale, exposition et performance sur l’art horticole, l’événement a été une réussite magistrale et l’une des attractions touristiques les plus populaires du Québec. «À la clôture de l’événement, le 15 novembre, nous avions attiré 1 015 666 visiteurs», rapporte fièrement Lise Huneault, directrice des communications et du marketing des MIM 2013.

«Traditionnellement, les expositions horticoles attirent un certain public. Nous avons dans nos communications mis de l’avant l’aspect grandiose de la compétition, afin de parler à un public plus large, de révéler Serge Leathead, président d’Upperkut. De plus, nous avons offert une place de choix à l’œuvre de Frédéric Back, L’homme qui plantait des arbres, l’une des mosaïcultures phares, à l’honneur.» D’ailleurs, Marc Hallé, directeur du studio d’Upperkut, a eu le privilège de travailler avec M. Back, quelques mois avant que le grand artiste ne s’éteigne à 89 ans. «C’était formidable de discuter avec lui du processus d’idéation en amont d’une œuvre, qu’elle soit cinématographique ou publicitaire», rapporte le concepteur, heureux d’avoir participé, avec son équipe, au succès d’un événement de cette taille.

La corporation sans but lucratif, Mosaïcultures Internationales de Montréal, a été créée en 1998 pour mettre sur pied la première édition des Mosaïcultures Internationales. Sa mission est de promouvoir l’art des jardins et l’horticulture comme une expression des valeurs du nouveau millénaire et une composante du paysage urbain.Puma Rihanna Creeper